Weekend with Dad and Karen

My dad and his girlfriend, Karen, came up to visit us this weekend.  We had a great time.  Marshall and I also shared our news with them on Saturday morning.  Although, my blood sugar control was not the greatest due to eating restaurant food and an ice cream bar (gasp!).  On Saturday, we showed my dad and Karen all around town – we went to all of the fun plant nurseries and home decor shops.  For lunch, we went to a local Thai restaurant and I ordered my standby – panang curry.  It was a seafood panang curry with salmon, mussels, shrimp, and scallops.  Therefore, it should be really low carb.  We also had chicken satay for an appetizer (also low carb).  For some reason this meal did not work out for me.  My blood sugar spiked to 250 mg/dl for a few hours afterward.  Yikes!  What in the heck??  I’ve been pretty stressed out any time my blood sugar is above 150 mg/dl.  In my head, I am imagining the baby getting “fried” by the excess sugar and not developing correctly.  I think every pregnant woman worries about the fetal development, but as a Type 1 diabetic, I think we have extra worried thoughts.  My control has not been as good over the past month as it would normally be.  I am having both more highs and lows.  I blame hormones.

You’d think I would have learned my lesson after the Thai food spike, but later that evening I caved in and had a Haagen Das ice cream bar.  I typically do just fine covering ice cream with insulin and don’t often spike too high.  My blood sugar was fine most of the night, but overnight I had a very delayed spike – going as high as 289 mg/dl for about 4 hours and I rage bolused to get it down.  So stressful.  My blood sugar was 92 mg/dl by the time I woke up on Sunday morning, but I woke up feeling super stressed out and tired.  I really need to crack down on my diet again.  I can see that these few indulgences are not working out and are wreaking havoc.

Sunday, Marshall and I took my dad and Karen up Casper and Muddy Mountains on our Polaris Rzr Ranger (side by side ATV).  I’m not 100% certain that I should be riding in this thing pregnant.  It is very safe.  You sit in it like a car, it has seatbelts, headrests, roll cage, amazing shocks.  I don’t plan on riding it later in the pregnancy.  We hit a bump about twice that caused some uterine cramping.  In both cases, I asked the driver to chill out.  I’m still waiting for my first actual OB appointment so that I can ask some questions about this.

We had a great time this weekend.  My dad and Karen left on Sunday afternoon.  After they left, I immediately crashed in bed for a 4 hour nap (and I am a person who rarely takes naps).  I was also back in bed by 9:30pm that night.  This pregnancy has fixed my night owl-ishness.

 

 

 

Leave a comment