Week 9 – Paleo Fails and Food Cravings

This week was pretty uneventful.  I’m feeling good!  The fatigue has gotten a bit better, which has allowed for some fun activities even during the week after work.

I was elated to see that my A1c was 5.7%  My insulin intake is about where it was pre-pregnancy, but with a lot fewer ups.  Honestly, it’s been easy to control my blood sugar this week.  Thank goodness because I’ve been having some ridiculous food cravings.  Most of the time, all I’m wanting is fruit and cheese.  I cannot seem to get enough of either.  Ok, not so bad.  However, I also can’t seem to get my mind off of burritos, nachos, and other carby Mexican dishes (and don’t forget the cheese!).  Chips, nacho cheese, beans, tortillas.  Yes, please!  I will never laugh again at the seriousness in which pregnant women crave a specific food item.

So, yes…  I’ve had a burrito, tacos, chips and cheese, and even a chili cheese dog.  I can’t believe I’m even typing these words.  Epic Paleo fail for me.  I’ve eaten more gluten in the past two weeks than I have in the past two years.  I thought I was tolerating it ok at first, but in the past few days, my geographic tongue (autoimmune disorder of tongue in which you lose your papillae in patchy spatial pattern, most sources say it’s benign, but it’s a sign of diet-induced gut issues for me) has come back.  I also woke up this morning with my swollen “gluten face” and gastrointestinal weirdness.  Yuck.  I need to get it together!

Thank goodness for my new Vitamix blender and for my prenatal vitamin.  Although, I haven’t had any traditional morning sickness, I have not been particularly fond of my normal greens and other vegetables.  I’ve been sneaking kale into my morning smoothies.  Smoothies have been perfect for me.  1) It’s been so freaking hot out, all I want is cold food, especially if it’s fruity, and 2) I’ve never really liked putting solid food on my stomach before 9am, so smoothie is a perfect way to get something nutritious in my stomach.

I have managed to get down some salads and other veggies each day, but it’s not as much as I would normally eat.  The smoothies and prenatal vitamins are like insurance.  It is harder than I ever thought to get in certain foods while pregnant.

This past week, I got in a few hikes and some walking in the park with my sister-in-law.  Marshall and I managed to get the boat out on the lake twice and I swam in the lovely cool water.  I would like to get back to the yoga studio and to the gym for a little strength training, but it’s just been too nice outside not to play.

Speaking of which…time to go play outside!

Leave a comment